Home   |   Research   |   Publications   |   Talks   |   HDR & PhD

Welcome to the group webpage

Group picture (Dec 2019)
From left to right: Clotilde Marut, Michel Caffarel, Mickael Veril, Anthony Scemama, and Pierre-Francois Loos.

The aim of our research group is to tackle fundamental problems in Chemistry and Physics using Mathematical techniques. The group's interest lies at the interface between Physics and Chemistry, and mainly focus on developing simple approximations that are accurate enough to have chemical and physical usefulness. I am collaborating with Michel Caffarel and Anthony Scemama, who are also members of the LCPQ. Our group has received funding from the European Research Council (ERC) under the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (Grant agreement No. 863481)
PTEROSOR logo ERC logo

If you would like to discuss joining the group or working on a project, please email as below.


  • Sep 2021: Mika Véril has submitted his PhD dissertation entitled "Electronic transitions, statistics and digital tools for quantum chemistry". Congratulations Mika!
  • Mar 2021: Raul Quintero-Monsebaiz is going to join the group in a few weeks as a postdoctoral fellow. Welcome Raul!
  • Dec 2020: The website of the PTEROSOR project is up and running!
  • Dec 2020: The QUEST website is officially online and the corresponding publication submitted!
  • Sep 2020: Fabris Kossoski is going to join the group as a postdoctoral fellow from Oct. Welcome Fabris!
  • Jun 2020: The ERC PTEROSOR project has officialy started!
  • Apr 2020: Two new PhD students (Enzo Monino and Roberto Orlando) will join the group in September to start their PhD.
  • Feb 2020: Great news again! Pina Romaniello and I secured a 80|Prime fellowship from the MITI to work on ensemble/multireference GW methods.
  • Dec 2019: Good news alert: the PTEROSOR project has been funded by the ERC and will be running for the next 5 years.
  • Aug 2019: Our paper on PT symmetry in Hartree-Fock theory has made it to the cover of JCTC!!
  • Jun 2019: Come and join us in June 2020 at the 3rd edition of the International summer School in electronic structure Theory (ISTPC).
  • Jun 2019: Stefano di Sabatino will join the group in September for a one-year postdoc position to work with Pina Romaniello and myself on a new multireference GW method.
  • Jul 2019: I've been granted an early-career fellowship from the ANR.
  • May 2019: Clotilde Marut secured a PhD scholarship and will join the group in September. Welcome Clotilde!
  • May 2019: Thomas Colle has joined us for a Master 1 project on conical intersections.
  • Nov 2018: Come and join us at TCCM Winter School LTTC in Luchon!
  • Oct 2018: Peter Gill from the Australian National University will be visiting our group in October next year!
  • Sep 2018: Mika just had his 1st paper accepted in JCTC! Congrats!
  • Sep 2018: Joshua Hollett (Winnipeg) is visiting our group up to early November.
  • Jun 2018: Mika has been awarded a PhD scholarship and will remain in the group for the next three years.
  • Jan 2018: Mika has joined the group for a Master project.
  • Feb 2017: Sebastian Sitkiewicz (Master student) from Valencia has joined the group for a 3-month stay. He will work on the non-linear optic properties of model systems.
  • Dec 2016: I am moving back to France (University Paul Sabatier in Toulouse) on a CNRS research position.

BREAKING NEWS: Quantum Package 2.0 is out!!

We are delighted to announce the release of Quantum Package v2 for fast, accurate and scalable selected CI calculations. Full paper can be found here.

Group Members

  • Pierre-Francois Loos (group leader, CV)

    Directeur de recherche (HDR)
    Laboratoire de Chimie et Physique Quantiques
    Université de Toulouse, CNRS, UPS, Franc
    Researcher ID: A-1103-2010
    ORCID: 0000-0003-0598-7425

    Telephone: +33 5 6155 7339
    E-mail: loos@irsamc.ups-tlse.fr

  • Fabris Kossoski (Postdoc, ERC)

  • Raul Quintero-Monsebaiz (Postdoc, ERC)

  • Mickael Véril (PhD student, UPS)

  • Clotilde Marut (PhD student, UPS)

  • Enzo Monino (PhD student, ERC)

  • Roberto Orlando (PhD student, 80|PRIME)

  • Yann Damour (PhD student, ERC)

    Past Members

  • Maia Courtiel (2021)
  • Juliette Authier, Pierre Racine, and Stefano di Sabatino (2020)
  • Thomas Colle (2019)
  • Sebastian Sitkiewicz and Marat Sibaev (2017)
  • Harrison Barnett and Fergus Rogers (2016)
  • Daniel Hills, Nilupuli Senadhira and Wenqi Zhang (2016)
  • Nathaniel Bloomfield and Anneke Knol (2015)
  • Davids Agboola (2014-2015)
  • Ee-Faye Chong, Stuart Ferrie and Matt Plowman (2015)
  • Amy Kendrick (2014)
  • Dominic Weiller (2013)